Provincial Nominee Programs

The Provincial Nomination Program (PNP) is an extremely successful program that has seen 10 of the 13 Canadian provinces enter into an agreement with the Canadian government to offer more immigration opportunities. This program allows each individual province to nominate applicants, based on the provinces’ unique skill needs.

So, if a particular province is experiencing a shortage of skilled health care workers, they could give precedence to those applicants who have the necessary qualifications.  The program is designed to make it easier for immigrants to assimilate into Canadian life, while ensuring that they effectively contribute to the individual communities.

Qualifying criteria

Most provinces and territories in Canada can nominate immigrants through the PNP. These immigrants must have the skills, education and work experience to contribute to the economy of that province or territory and must express an interest in living in that particular area.

In most cases, one must apply directly to a province or territory to be considered under the PNP.

Since January 1st 2015, many provinces and territories have launched new Express Entry streams, including:

  • Alberta
  • British Columbia
  • Manitoba
  • Saskatchewan
  • New Brunswick
  • Nova Scotia
  • Ontario
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Newfoundland
  • Northwest Territories
  • Yukon

Quebec Skilled Worker Program

The province of Quebec, where Montreal is located does not participate in the Provincial Nomination Program. The Government of Quebec and the Canadian Government have entered into a series of agreements, by which Quebec has established its own selection criteria for all economic immigrants who indicate their intention to reside in that province. Read more.

Do you want to come to Canada? At, we make applying for your visa simple. Fill out the form above and one of our account managers will call you to begin your Canadian visa application process.





phone number
I speak: