Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.


Simon Fraser University

Updated: December 16th, 2021

Simon Fraser University (SFU) boasts three campuses spread out in Vancouver, Surrey, and Burnaby in the beautiful province of British Columbia. SFU was established as early as 1965 and has over 95 different undergraduate programs on offer.

While SFU offers many programs, the most common enrollment for international students is for Computer Engineering, Business courses and Arts & Humanities programs.

30,000 students are enrolled at Simon Fraser University with around 9,000 international students from over 128 countries.

Where is Simon Fraser University (SFU)?

Simon Fraser University has three beautiful campuses in Burnaby, Surrey, and Vancouver. Below is the Burnaby campus.

Address: 8888 University Dr, Burnaby, BC V5A 1S6, Canada

Why Study at Simon Fraser University?


Did You Know?

Terry Fox is an SFU alumni. Terry Stanley Fox was a Canadian athlete who did an east-to-west cross-Canada run to raise money and awareness for cancer research. Terry did this with one leg amputated due to cancer.

The university has partnerships and collaborations with 2,947 institutions from 128 nations. Making Simon Fraser University a global university and allowing students access to academic and research opportunities through international research partners.

Simon Fraser University also provides work-study opportunities, loans, financial aid, and merit scholarships to international students.

To top all that off SFU has flexible courses that can be taken online, on weekends or at night. This way more students have the opportunity to obtain a qualification.

Top Programs at Simon Fraser University


Top Courses for Simon Fraser University
Programs Fees Per Year (CAD)
Master of Science (Computing Science) $ 14,619
Masters of Engineering (Mechanical Engineering) $ 15,792
Bachelor of Science (Chemistry) $ 22,035
Bachelor of Business $ 20,902
Bachelor of Science (Software Systems) $ 22,035
Master of Science (Health Sciences) $ 8,421

Please note the amount in the table is an average and not the exact amount

Online Courses

SFU’s online courses are delivered through their online management system, Canvas. The courses are scheduled to meet the needs of working professionals.

These are online courses offered by Simon Fraser University:

  1. Postgraduate Diploma Business Administration
  2. M.A. Educational technology & Learning Design

Admissions Process


For admission at Simon Fraser University, international students need the following requirements:

Undergraduate Application Fee is $125.

Admissions Requirements

  • Completed Simon Fraser University application
  • High School transcript (all courses)
  • ACT scores or equivalent SAT scores
  • Minimum GPA of 2.5-3.5
  • Resume (optional)
  • English Proficiency Test score
  • Passport copy
  • Financial statement with sufficient funds for educational expenses
Admission for Application period
Spring (January) 2021 August 1, 2020 - September 15, 2020
Summer (May) 2021 October 1, 2020 – January 31, 2021
Fall (September) 2021 October 1, 2020 – January 31, 2021, For high school applicants only

Yearly Tuition Range

International Students Undergraduate Postgraduate
Fees in CAD Over $ 25,000 $ 3,000-6,000

Please note the amount in the table is an average and not the exact amount

Life at Simon Fraser University


Athletes at Simon Fraser University compete at a national and international level in various varsity sports such as football, basketball, soccer and more! Of course, you can take part as a form of exercise and fun as well.

At SFU you will be able to join a co-op to alternate between paid work semesters and study semesters. This ensures you’ll graduate with contacts, skills and work experience.

You also have the Museum of Archaeology and the Art Gallery nearby, for days when you need to look at something other than a textbook.

How We Can Help You

Trying to decide on a university? Don’t know the first thing about getting a study permit? Don’t know if you’re eligible? That’s what we’re here for, to help you with the application process and all nitty-gritty that goes along with it!

Want to learn more about Canada? Subscribe to our newsletter and get an e-book on Canadian immigration filled with mesmerizing sights of Canada!

Please enter a valid phone number. is a private recognized immigration agent and is not affiliated with the Canadian Government.
Privacy policy