Loading...

Étudier au Canada

UNIVERSITÉ DE LA C.-B.                                               

Classée parmi les 20 meilleures universités du monde, l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique est connue pour ses excellentes recherches et ses cours de renom. 

INSTITUT DE TECHNOLOGIE DE LA C.-B.         

Explorez le monde grâce à l’Institut de technologie de la Colombie-Britannique (en anglais : British Columbia Institute of Technology). Cette institution polytechnique publique est dédiée au développement et à la recherche des hautes technologies. 

UNIVERSITÉ MCGILL                                                          

L'une des meilleures universités doctorales en médecine au Canada, l'Université McGill est surtout connue pour ses excellentes recherches et pour être l'une des plus anciennes universités au Canada.

UNIVERSITÉ SIMON FRASER                                      

L'Université Simon Fraser est une université de recherche publique, où l'innovation, la recherche et la sensibilisation communautaire sont un élément clé de leur système d'enseignement supérieur. 

ÉCOLE DE CINÉMA DE VANCOUVER                                   

L’école de cinéma de Vancouver (en anglais : Vancouver Film School) prépare les étudiants au monde réel grâce à une éducation globale, où le multiculturalisme est accueilli les bras grands ouverts. 

UNIVERSITÉ FAIRLEIGH DICKINSON                    

Il s'agit du plus grand institut polytechnique du Canada. L'Institut regroupe 5 bâtiments situés à Vancouver. 

Êtes-vous intéressé à étudier dans le pays le plus instruit du monde ? Le Canada a été classé comme l’un des pays ayant certains des meilleurs établissements d'enseignement au monde, dont trois figurent sur la liste des 100 meilleures universités mondiales. 

Choisir où étudier au Canada n'est pas seulement une décision importante pour l’optimisation de votre curriculum vitae, mais aussi pour le développement de votre carrière. Détenir un diplôme canadien peut vous aider à vous démarquer dans le secteur professionnel, que ce soit au Canada, à l'étranger ou dans votre propre pays d'origine. 

Ceci dit, le Canada valorise les personnes talentueuses, si bien qu'il a créé des programmes d'études supérieures fédéraux et provinciaux pour aider les étudiants talentueux à rester et à acquérir une expérience de travail au Canada, voire éventuellement à obtenir la résidence permanente.

Programmes d'études au Canada              

 

Que vous souhaitiez simplement vivre et étudier au Canada ou travailler à temps partiel en tant qu'étudiant international, le Canada est l'endroit qu’il vous faut. Avec des établissements d'enseignement de renommée universelle et un système d'enseignement public solide, le pays propose une variété de programmes visant à favoriser votre expérience d'apprentissage au Canada. Le Canada pourrait être votre porte d'entrée vers une bourse d'études ou même une bourse internationale.   

Consultez notre liste des 100 meilleures universités canadiennes pour vous aider à sélectionner l’université de votre préférence. 

Ai-je besoin d'un permis d'études ?       

 

Si vous avez l'intention d'étudier au Canada pendant plus de 6 mois, vous aurez besoin d'un permis d'études. Le permis d'études est généralement valide pour la durée de votre programme d'études avec 90 jours supplémentaires. Si votre programme d'études dure moins de six mois, vous n'aurez pas besoin d'un permis d'études. Néanmoins, vous souhaiterez peut-être en demander un, afin d’avoir la possibilité de gagner de l'argent et de travailler à la fois sur le campus et hors campus. Sans permis d'études, vous devrez demander un permis de travail pour pouvoir travailler en tant qu'étudiant international.    

Remarque importante : En raison de la réglementation COVID-19, tous les étudiants internationaux au Canada doivent demander un permis d'études ou un visa, quelle que soit la durée du programme d'études. 

Comment effectuer une demande de visa étudiant canadien 

Étape 1 : Découvrez si vous êtes admissible

Pour pouvoir étudier au Canada, un certain nombre d'exigences doivent être remplies.

Critères d'admissibilité

  • Être inscrit dans un établissement d'enseignement désigné (EED)
  • Avoir un budget suffisant pour payer vos frais de scolarité, vos frais de subsistance et votre transport aller-retour (pour vous-même et les membres de votre famille qui vous accompagnent au Canada)
  • Ne pas avoir de casier judiciaire
  • Être en bonne santé 
  • Prouver que vous avez l'intention de quitter le Canada à l'expiration de votre permis d'études.

Étape 2 : Postulez dans le collège ou l'université de votre choix 

Le Canada dispose d’un large choix d'excellents établissements, néanmoins, si vous êtes un étudiant international de troisième cycle, vous devrez choisir un établissement d'enseignement désigné (EED). Ne vous inquiétez pas, vous aurez le choix parmi plus de 300 EED à travers le Canada. Toutefois, si vous prévoyez de rester et de travailler au Canada après avoir terminé vos études, il est important de vérifier si votre EED respecte le Programme de permis de travail post-diplôme (PPTPD), car tous les EED n’ont pas été établis de la même manière.

Remarque importante : En raison de la réglementation COVID-19, votre EED devra être approuvé comme ayant un plan de préparation au COVID-19. Ceci afin de s'assurer que la santé et la sécurité de tous les étudiants sont protégées et reçoivent les informations et le soutien nécessaires concernant le confinement, l'assurance maladie, etc. pendant leur séjour au Canada.

Étape 3 : Effectuez votre demande de permis d'études 

Une fois que vous aurez été accepté dans l'établissement d'enseignement de votre choix, vous recevrez une lettre d'acceptation, dont vous aurez besoin lors de votre demande de permis d'études canadien. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des documents requis pour votre demande.

Documents requis

  • Preuve d'acceptation - lettre d'acceptation de votre EED
  • Preuve d'identité - passeport et deux photos format passeport
  • Preuve financière - Minimum de 10 000 $ plus des fonds supplémentaires pour chaque membre de la famille qui se joindra à vous – par ex : une preuve de prêt étudiant, un compte bancaire canadien à votre nom, des frais de scolarité et de logement soldés, une preuve de financement (personne ou école), un prêt étudiant ou d'études, des relevés bancaires de quatre mois.

Des informations complémentaires peuvent également vous être demandées, telles que : 

Documents supplémentaires

  • Une lettre d'explication - pourquoi vous voulez étudier au Canada ;
  • Un certificat d'acceptation du Québec (CAQ) - si vous souhaitez étudier au Québec ;
  • Une déclaration du dépositaire (pour les mineurs uniquement) ;
  • Certificat de police ;
  • Examens médicaux ;
  • Test de langue ;
  • Données biométriques ;
  • Autres documents - toutes les exigences locales de votre pays ou région 

Si vous devez soumettre des informations supplémentaires, il est préférable de commencer à les collecter avant qu'elles ne vous soient demandées, car vous n'aurez que 30 jours pour les acquérir et les soumettre à compter de la date à laquelle elles sont demandées par IRCC. 

Une fois votre visa d'étudiant approuvé, vous recevrez une lettre d'introduction au point d'entrée. Vous devrez la montrer au fonctionnaire une fois arrivé au Canada qui vous remettra alors votre permis d'études, ce qui vous donnera le droit d'étudier dans le pays. Vous recevrez également automatiquement une AVE ou un visa de résident temporaire qui vous permettra d'entrer au Canada. Assurez-vous d’avoir aussi avec vous toutes vos pièces justificatives requises - voire plus - au cas où vous en auriez besoin à votre port d'entrée. 

En tant qu'exigence supplémentaire, vous devrez utiliser ArriveCan pour afficher votre auto-évaluation des symptômes COVID-19, votre plan de confinement et vos coordonnées. 

Combien de temps prendra ma demande de visa ? 

En moyenne, les délais de traitement des permis d'études peuvent prendre environ 15 semaines, selon votre nationalité et l'endroit d'où vous postulez. Cependant, une option plus rapide peut s’offrir à vous si vous êtes admissible au Volet direct pour les études (VDE) – en anglais : Student Direct Stream (SDS). Si vous venez de l'un des pays suivants, vous pourriez être admissible au VDE et recevoir votre permis d'études au Canada en 20 jours civils seulement !  

  • Chine
  • Inde
  • Maroc
  • Pakistan
  • Les Philippines
  • Sénégal
  • Viêt Nam 

Besoin d'aide pour votre candidature ?

 

L'aide d'un professionnel agréé pour vous aider avec votre demande s'accompagne de toutes sortes d'avantages ! Vous aurez accès à votre propre conseiller étudiant qui vous aidera non seulement à trouver le meilleur endroit pour étudier au Canada en fonction de vos besoins personnels et de vos aspirations professionnelles, mais vous aidera également à rédiger une lettre de motivation pour soutenir votre candidature au collège ou à l'université.       

Vous pourrez également soumettre l’intégralité de vos informations et pièces justificatives sur notre générateur de profil de visa, qui vous permettra de suivre votre demande, de rester en contact avec votre consultant réglementé en immigration canadienne (CRIC) et rendra l'ensemble du processus plus simple, plus rapide et plus pratique pour vous. De cette manière, vous n’aurez plus qu’une seule chose à faire : découvrir ce que la vie étudiante au Canada a à offrir !  

Travailler au Canada en tant qu'étudiant                                        

En tant qu'étudiant international, vous êtes en droit d’étudier au Canada et d’y travailler pour un maximum de 20 heures par semaine. Il s’agit d’un excellent moyen d'acquérir une expérience canadienne, des fonds supplémentaires et la possibilité d'un futur emploi chez un employeur canadien. 

Lire la suite…

Système d'éducation canadien                                          

Considéré comme l'un des meilleurs systèmes éducatifs au monde, le Canada a beaucoup à offrir pour votre avenir éducatif. Vous aurez l’opportunité de bénéficier d’une éducation gouvernementale gratuite dans les établissements primaires et secondaires si vous êtes citoyen canadien ou résident permanent. 

Lire la suite… 

Permis d'études Visa Partenaires                                  

Si vous êtes un étudiant international qui n'est pas un résident permanent du Canada, vous pourriez avoir besoin d'un permis d'études. Un permis d'études vous donnera la chance d'avoir accès à l’excellent système d'éducation canadien, et de travailler à temps partiel en tant qu'étudiant international.  

Lire la suite… 

Permis de travail post-diplôme                                       

Avec des établissements d'enseignement canadiens reconnus dans le monde entier, vous pouvez grandement bénéficier du système d'éducation du Canada en tant qu'étudiant international. Vous autez la possibilité de poursuivre vos études grâce à une variété de programmes offerts par des institutions canadiennes de renom. 

Lire la suite…

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur le Canada? Abonnez-vous à notre infolettre et obtenez un livre électronique sur l'immigration canadienne rempli de sites fascinants sur le Canada!

Loading...

Study in Canada

Students are studying in library | study in Canada

Are you interested in studying in the world’s most educated country in the world? Canada has been ranked as having some of the leading educational institutions in the world, three of which have made the world’s top 100 universities list.

Choosing where to study in Canada is not only an important decision when it comes to improving your resume but also when it comes to your career development. Having a Canadian qualification can help you make your mark in the professional sector, whether it be in Canada, internationally, or in your own home country.

That being said, Canada values talented individuals so much that it has created both federal and provincial graduate programs to help talented students stay and get work experience in Canada and eventually lead to getting permanent residency.

Study Programs In Canada

Whether you want to simply live and study in Canada or work part-time as an international student, Canada is the place for you. With universally acclaimed educational institutions and a strong public schooling system, the country hosts a variety of programs to help with the Canadian learning experience. Canada could be your doorway to a student grant or even an international scholarship.  

Take a look at our Top 100 Canadian University List to help you choose your preferred university.

Do I Need a Study Permit?

If you intend to study in Canada for longer than 6 months you will need a study permit. The study permit is usually valid for the length of your study program plus an extra 90 days. If your study program is less than six months long you won't need a study permit but you may want to apply for one anyway as it will give you the opportunity to earn some extra money and work both on and off-campus. Without a study permit, you will have to apply for a work permit to be able to work as an international student.     

Important Note: Due to COVID-19 regulations, all international students in Canada are required to apply for a study permit or visa, no matter the length of the study program.

How to Apply for a Canadian Student Visa

Step 1: Find Out if You’re Eligible

To be able to study in Canada there are a number of requirements that need to be met.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Be enrolled at a Designated Learning Institution(DLI)
  • Have enough money to pay for your tuition fees, living expenses, and return transportation (for yourself and any family members who come with you to Canada)
  • Not have a criminal record
  • Be in good health 
  • Prove that you intend to leave Canada when your study permit expires.

Step2: Apply to Your Chosen College or University

Canada has so many great institutions to choose from, however, if you are an international post-grad student, you will need to choose a Designated Learning Institution (DLI). Not to worry though, you will have your choice of over 300 DLIs across Canada. If, however, you plan to stay and work in Canada after you have completed your studies, it’s important to check if your DLI meets the Post-Graduation Work Permit Program (PGWPP) as not all DLIs are not created equally.

Important Note: Due to COVID-19 regulations, your DLI will need to be approved as having a COVID-19 readiness plan. This is to ensure that all students’ health and safety are protected and are provided with the necessary information and support regarding quarantine, health insurance, etc. during their stay in Canada.

Step 3: Apply For Your Study Permit

Once you have been accepted to your chosen educational institution, you will receive an acceptance letter, which you will need when you apply for your Canadian study permit. Below is a list of the required document for your application

Required Documents

  • Proof of acceptance - letter of acceptance from your DLI
  • Proof of identity - passport and two passport-sized photos
  • Proof of financial - Minimum of $10,000 plus additional fund for each family member that will be joining you eg. proof of student loan, a Canadian bank account in your name, paid tuition and housing fees, proof of funding (person or school), student or education loan, four months bank statements

You may also be asked for additional information, such as:

Additional Documents

  • a letter of explanation - why you want to study in Canada;
  • a certificat d'acceptation du Québec (CAQ) - if you want to study in Quebec
  • a custodian declaration (minors only)
  • Police certificate;
  • Medical exams;
  • Language testing;
  • Biometrics;
  • other documents - any local requirements from your country or region

If you need to submit additional information it’s best to start collecting them before you are asked for them as you will only have 30 days to acquire and submit them from the date they are requested by the IRCC.

Once your student visa is approved you will receive a port of entry letter of introduction. You will need to show this to the official once you arrive in Canada who will then give you your study permit, which allows you to study in Canada. You will also automatically receive an eTA or temporary resident visa that will allow you to enter Canada. Be sure that you also have all your required and additional supporting documents with you in case you are requested at your port of entry.

As an additional requirement, you will need to use ArriveCan to show your COVID-19 symptoms self-assessment, quarantine plan, and contact information.

FAQS: What You Want to Know About Studying in Canada

Asian student girl holding book on campus

1. Can I study in Canada without IELTS?

The short answer is yes. You don’t necessarily need to take the IELTS test to study in Canada. Most schools in Canada give international students options between a few approved language tests for academic purposes such as the Canadian Academic English Language (CAEL) assessment and the Duolingo English Test.

You could avoid writing an English test if you meet specific exemption requirements. For example, if you completed four or more consecutive years of full-time education in English in a country other than Canada where English is the principal language.

2. How much will it cost to study in Canada?

According to Statistics Canada, you can expect to pay anywhere between an average of $29,714 for undergraduates programs and $17,744 for postgraduate programs per year, while MBA programs average at about $27,397 annually. Read more here.

3. Is Canada’s student visa open?

Yes, Canada is processing student visa applications and you can apply for your Canadian student visa. In order to travel to Canada you must follow COVID-19 measures which include being fully vaccinated among other criteria.

4. What should I study in Canada to get PR?

There are a few immigration programs and streams that allow international graduates within specific disciplines and graduate levels to apply for permanent residence in Canada. Two such programs are the Master's Graduate Stream of the Ontario Provincial Nominee Program (OINP) and the Student Stream of the Saskatchewan Provincial Nominee Program (SINP).

Another way how international graduates become permanent residents is by staying on and working in Canada after their studies. That’s because Canadian work experience counts towards your immigration points. International graduates can work in Canada by applying for a Post-Graduation Work Permit (PGWP). It’s important to study at a PGWP-approved college or university in order to qualify for a PGWP after you graduate.

5. How to study in Canada with scholarships in 2022?

International students who have shown academic excellence may be able to get scholarships to study in Canada in 2022 and beyond. See this list of Canada scholarships, grants, and fellowships for international students.

6. What is the cost of a study visa in Canada?

It costs $150 to apply for a Canadian study visa in 2022.

7. How can I study in Canada and work?

The good news is that international students are eligible to work while studying in Canada. Students can work off-campus for 20 hours per week and full-time during semester breaks. You can also stay on and work in Canada after you graduate with a Post-Graduation Work Permit. See question four.

8. How much time do I need to reapply for a study permit in Canada?

You should apply to extend your study permit at least 30 days before your current permit expires. If your permit has already expired then you have 90 days to apply to restore your status and extend your permit. You will have to pay a $200 fee to restore your status.

How Long Will My Visa Application Take?

On average processing times for study permits can take around 15 weeks, depending on your nationality and where you are applying from, however, there may be a faster option for you if you qualify for the Student Direct Stream (SDS). If you are from one of the following countries you may be eligible for the SDS and could receive your permit to study in Canada in as little as 20 calendar days!

List of Eligible Countries

  • China;
  • India;
  • Morocco;
  • Pakistan;
  • the Philippines;
  • Senegal;
  • Vietnam;
  • Brazil;
  • Colombia;
  • Peru;
  • Antigua and Barbuda;
  • Costa Rica;
  • Trinidad and Tobago; and
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

Need Help With Your Application?

student wearing glasses sitting on the couch with laptop | study in Canada

Using a licensed professional to assist you with your application comes with all kinds of perks! You’ll have access to your very own student advisor who will not only help you find the best place to study in Canada based on your personal needs and career aspirations but also help you write a motivational letter to help support your college or university application.        

You will also be able to submit all your information and supporting documents on our state-of-the-art Visa Profile Builder. This will allow you to track your application, keep in contact with your designated Regulated Canadian Immigration Consultant (RCIC), and will make the entire process simpler, quicker, and more convenient for you, leaving you with one more thing to do. Explore what student life in Canada has to offer!   

Work in Canada as a Student

As an international student, you can study in Canada and work in Canada for a maximum of 20 hours a week. This a great way to gain Canadian experience, extra funds, and the possibility of future employment by a Canadian employer. 

Read More...

Canadian Education System

Said to have one of the best education systems in the world, Canada has a lot to offer for your educational future. You have the chance to receive free government education in both primary and secondary institutions if you are either a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident. 

Read More...

Study Permit Visa Partners

If you are an international student that is not a permanent resident of Canada, you may need a study permit. A study permit will give you the chance to have access to the great Canadian education system, and even work part-time as an international student. 

Read More...

Post-Graduate Work Permit

With Canadian educational institutions recognized around the world, you can greatly benefit from Canada's education system as an international student. You have the opportunity to further your education through a variety of programs offered by recognized Canadian institutions. 

Read More...
Want to learn more about Canada? Subscribe to our newsletter and get an e-book on Canadian immigration filled with mesmerizing sights of Canada!